Working Groups

As part of its Research and Scholarship initiatives, CIRS organizes several ongoing Working Groups that convene in Doha to examine a variety of international issues. The primary purpose of CIRS research initiatives is to fill in existing research gaps, and to contribute towards furthering knowledge on the prevailing issues related to security, economic stability, and the political realm of the region. Each of these projects involves some of the most prominent scholars of the Middle East and the Gulf region. Each scholar participating will be working on a specific sub-topic, under the overarching subject.

Past Working Groups

Sun May 3, 2009 - Mon May 4, 2009 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
on May 3–4, 2009, the "Comparative Ethics of War" working group meeting was co-sponsored by the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) and the International Peace Research Institute,...
Thu Jan 8, 2009 - Fri Jan 9, 2009 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On January 8-9, 2009, CIRS convened the second International Relations of the Gulf working group session. This meeting was part of a year-long research initiative that began with the first working...
Wed Jun 18, 2008 - Thu Jun 19, 2008 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On June 18 and 19, 2008, CIRS hosted a working group to discuss various aspects of the "International Relations of the Gulf." This initial round of talks consisted of preliminary thoughts on chosen...
Sat Apr 5, 2008 - Sun Apr 6, 2008 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On April 5–6, 2008, the Center for International and Regional Studies hosted the "Innovation in Islam" Conference. Innovation in Islam explored topics such as the idea and reality of innovation in...
Mon Dec 17, 2007 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On December 17, 2007, the Working Group symposium on Global Development, Organizations, and Faith in the Muslim World was held at the Georgetown University School of Foreign Service in Qatar. The...
Tue Oct 23, 2007 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On October 23, 2007, the Center for International and Regional Studies and the Institute for the Study of Democracy hosted a private seminar of the working group members and prominent scholars and...
Sat Apr 21, 2007 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Conference Abstracts Saturday 21 April Panel A: Classical Muslim Education 1. Sebastian Günther: The Principles of Instruction are the Grounds of our Knowledge: Al-Farabi’s Philosophical and al-...