Working Groups

As part of its Research and Scholarship initiatives, CIRS organizes several ongoing Working Groups that convene in Doha to examine a variety of international issues. The primary purpose of CIRS research initiatives is to fill in existing research gaps, and to contribute towards furthering knowledge on the prevailing issues related to security, economic stability, and the political realm of the region. Each of these projects involves some of the most prominent scholars of the Middle East and the Gulf region. Each scholar participating will be working on a specific sub-topic, under the overarching subject.

Past Working Groups

Sun Apr 22, 2012 - Mon Apr 23, 2012 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On April 22–23, 2012, CIRS concluded its “Food Security and Food Sovereignty in the Middle East” research initiative with a two-day working group meeting. Sixteen scholars and experts participating...
Sun Feb 19, 2012 - Mon Feb 20, 2012 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On February 19–20, 2012, CIRS held a two-day working group meeting on the topic “The Evolving Ruling Bargain in the Middle East.” Several scholars and experts on the Middle East were invited to CIRS...
Sun Nov 13, 2011 - Mon Nov 14, 2011 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On November 13–14, 2011, CIRS held a two-day working group meeting, to discuss issues related to its research initiative on “Food Security and Food Sovereignty in the Middle East.” The working group...
Sun Oct 9, 2011 - Mon Oct 10, 2011 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On October 9–10, 2011, CIRS convened the first of its “Sectarian Politics in the Gulf” Working Group meetings. Participating in the research initiative were several experts on the issue of sectarian...
Sun Jan 9, 2011 - Mon Jan 10, 2011 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On January 9–10, 2011, CIRS concluded the second meeting of its “Nuclear Question in the Middle East” working group. The working group participants were invited back to Doha to deliver their chapter...
Sat Dec 11, 2010 - Sun Dec 12, 2010 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On December 11–12, 2010, CIRS concluded the second session of its “Political Economy of the Gulf” research initiative with a two-day working group meeting that took place at Georgetown University in...
Sun Nov 7, 2010 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On November 7, 2010, CIRS held a Working Group meeting to discuss regional perspectives related to the ongoing “ Nuclear Question in the Middle East ” research initiative that CIRS commenced in May...
Sun Oct 10, 2010 - Mon Oct 11, 2010 06:00 PM - 06:00 PM
On October 10–11, 2010, CIRS held its third and final meeting of the “Migrant Labor in the Gulf” working group. Each participant submitted a draft paper in advance of the meeting. The goal of the...
Sun May 23, 2010 - Mon May 24, 2010 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On May 23–24, 2010, a two-day working group meeting in Doha, Qatar took place, CIRS invited a group of scholars to discuss the “Nuclear Question in the Middle East.” The presentations took several...
Sat Jan 23, 2010 - Sun Jan 24, 2010 05:00 PM - 03:00 AM
On January 23–24, 2010, CIRS held the first of its “Political Economy of the Gulf” working group meetings. The “Political Economy of the Gulf” is a CIRS research initiative that examines key aspects...