Working Groups

As part of its Research and Scholarship initiatives, CIRS organizes several ongoing Working Groups that convene in Doha to examine a variety of international issues. The primary purpose of CIRS research initiatives is to fill in existing research gaps, and to contribute towards furthering knowledge on the prevailing issues related to security, economic stability, and the political realm of the region. Each of these projects involves some of the most prominent scholars of the Middle East and the Gulf region. Each scholar participating will be working on a specific sub-topic, under the overarching subject.

Past Working Groups

Sat May 18, 2013 - Sun May 19, 2013 06:00 PM - 06:00 PM
On May 18–19 2013, CIRS held a second working group to conclude its research initiative on “Weak States in the Greater Middle East.” Participants met in Washington D.C. to discuss individual paper...
Sat Mar 16, 2013 - Sun Mar 17, 2013 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On March 16–17, 2013, CIRS held a second working group to conclude its research initiative on “Social Change in Post-Khomeini Iran.” Experts and scholars from various multidisciplinary backgrounds...
Sat Jan 5, 2013 - Sun Jan 6, 2013 06:00 PM - 06:00 PM
On January 5–6, 2013, CIRS held a working group meeting under the research initiative “ Politics and the Media in the Post-Arab Spring Middle East .” Given the profound socio-political transitions...
Sat Dec 8, 2012 - Sun Dec 9, 2012 11:00 AM - 09:00 PM
On December 8–9, 2012, CIRS convened its first Working Group meeting under the research initiative “Weak States in the Greater Middle East.” Participants employed a multi-disciplinary approach to...
Sat Oct 20, 2012 - Sun Oct 21, 2012 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On October 20–21, 2012, The Center for International and Regional Studies launched one of its new research initiatives for the 2012–2013 academic year, “Social Change in Post-Khomeini Iran” , through...
Sat Sep 15, 2012 - Sun Sep 16, 2012 11:00 AM - 09:00 PM
On September 15–16, 2012, the Center for International and Regional Studies kicked off the 2012–2013 academic year with a two-day working group meeting to discuss “The Evolving Ruling Bargain in the...
Tue May 15, 2012 - Wed May 16, 2012 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On May 15–16, 2012, CIRS held a second working group meeting to conclude its research initiative on “Sectarian Politics in the Gulf.” Scholars and experts on the topic were invited to return to Doha...
Sun Apr 22, 2012 - Mon Apr 23, 2012 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On April 22–23, 2012, CIRS concluded its “Food Security and Food Sovereignty in the Middle East” research initiative with a two-day working group meeting. Sixteen scholars and experts participating...
Sun Feb 19, 2012 - Mon Feb 20, 2012 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On February 19–20, 2012, CIRS held a two-day working group meeting on the topic “The Evolving Ruling Bargain in the Middle East.” Several scholars and experts on the Middle East were invited to CIRS...
Sun Nov 13, 2011 - Mon Nov 14, 2011 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On November 13–14, 2011, CIRS held a two-day working group meeting, to discuss issues related to its research initiative on “Food Security and Food Sovereignty in the Middle East.” The working group...