Working Groups

As part of its Research and Scholarship initiatives, CIRS organizes several ongoing Working Groups that convene in Doha to examine a variety of international issues. The primary purpose of CIRS research initiatives is to fill in existing research gaps, and to contribute towards furthering knowledge on the prevailing issues related to security, economic stability, and the political realm of the region. Each of these projects involves some of the most prominent scholars of the Middle East and the Gulf region. Each scholar participating will be working on a specific sub-topic, under the overarching subject.

Past Working Groups

Sun Aug 30, 2015 - Mon Aug 31, 2015 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On August 30-31, 2015, CIRS held the first Working Group under its research initiative on “Art and Cultural Production in the GCC.” Included in the meeting were academics, art historians, museum...
Sun Jun 14, 2015 - Mon Jun 15, 2015 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On June 14–15, 2015, CIRS held a second working group meeting under the “Re-Emerging West Asia” research initiative. This project’s geographic focus includes the countries of the Persian Gulf, the...
Wed May 13, 2015 - Thu May 14, 2015 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On May 13-14, 2015, CIRS held its second Working Group on the “The Changing Security Dynamics of the Gulf” research initiative. Academics gathered for the second time to discuss their research...
Sat Apr 25, 2015 - Sun Apr 26, 2015 09:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On April 25-26, 2015, the first working group meeting of CIRS’ research initiative on “ China and the Middle East ” took place. A diverse, multi-disciplinary collective of scholars from China, the...
Sat Apr 11, 2015 - Sun Apr 12, 2015 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On April 11-12, 2015, CIRS held its second working group on “ The Digital Middle East ” research initiative in Doha. Participants gathered to discuss their research papers and obtain feedback from...
Sat Mar 14, 2015 - Sun Mar 15, 2015 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
As part of its Research and Scholarship initiatives, CIRS organizes several ongoing Working Groups that convene in Doha to examine a variety of international issues. The primary purpose of CIRS...
Sun Feb 8, 2015 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On February 8, 2015, CIRS held its second working group on the Healthcare Policy and Politics in the Gulf research initiative in Doha. Participants gathered for the second time to discuss their...
Sat Jan 10, 2015 - Sun Jan 11, 2015 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On January 10-11, 2015, CIRS held the first Working Group under its research initiative on “ Re-Emerging West Asia .” Included in the meeting were academics representing the South Caucasus states of...
Thu Nov 20, 2014 - Fri Nov 21, 2014 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On November 20-21, 2014, in partnership with the youth-oriented social initiative organization, Silatech , CIRS launched the “ Youth in the Middle East ” research initiative with a two day working...
Sat Oct 25, 2014 - Sun Oct 26, 2014 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On October 25-26, 2014, CIRS held its first Working Group under “ The Changing Security Dynamics of the Gulf ” research initiative. Academics from various disciplines gathered for their first meeting...