Working Groups

As part of its Research and Scholarship initiatives, CIRS organizes several ongoing Working Groups that convene in Doha to examine a variety of international issues. The primary purpose of CIRS research initiatives is to fill in existing research gaps, and to contribute towards furthering knowledge on the prevailing issues related to security, economic stability, and the political realm of the region. Each of these projects involves some of the most prominent scholars of the Middle East and the Gulf region. Each scholar participating will be working on a specific sub-topic, under the overarching subject.

Past Working Groups

Sun Feb 7, 2016 09:00 AM - 03:00 PM
On February 7, 2016, the Center for International and Regional Studies held its second working group meeting on “ Art and Cultural Production in the GCC .” Project participants, as well as other...
Sun Jan 17, 2016 - Mon Jan 18, 2016 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On January 17-18, 2016, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) convened the first Working Group under its new research initiative, “Re-Envisioning the Arab State.” The working group...
Wed Jan 13, 2016 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On January 13, 2016, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS), Georgetown University in Qatar’s flagship research institution, recently hosted a roundtable on Iran-GCC Dialogue. The...
Sun Nov 15, 2015 - Mon Nov 16, 2015 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On November 15-16, 2015, the Center of International and Regional Studies (CIRS) hosted the second working group meeting under its research initiative on “the Gulf Family” at Georgetown University...
Sun Nov 8, 2015 - Mon Nov 9, 2015 09:00 AM - 12:00 PM
On November 8-9, 2015, the Center of International and Regional Studies (CIRS), in collaboration with Silatech, hosted the second working group meeting as part of their research project on “ Youth in...
Sun Oct 4, 2015 - Mon Oct 5, 2015 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On October 4-5, 2015, CIRS held a second working group meeting under its research project on " China and the Middle East. " Contributors were assembled to receive critical feedback and commentary on...
Sun Sep 27, 2015 - Mon Sep 28, 2015 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On September 27-28, 2015, CIRS convened the first Working Group under its research initiative on “ The Geopolitics of Natural Resources in the Middle East .” The session was attended by ecologists,...
Sun Aug 30, 2015 - Mon Aug 31, 2015 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On August 30-31, 2015, CIRS held the first Working Group under its research initiative on “Art and Cultural Production in the GCC.” Included in the meeting were academics, art historians, museum...
Sun Jun 14, 2015 - Mon Jun 15, 2015 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On June 14-15, 2015, CIRS held a second working group meeting under the “Re-emerging West Asia” project. This project’s geographic focus includes the countries of the Persian Gulf, the Levant, and...
Wed May 13, 2015 - Thu May 14, 2015 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On May 13-14, 2015, CIRS held its second Working Group on the “The Changing Security Dynamics of the Gulf” research initiative. Academics gathered for the second time to discuss their research...