Working Groups

As part of its Research and Scholarship initiatives, CIRS organizes several ongoing Working Groups that convene in Doha to examine a variety of international issues. The primary purpose of CIRS research initiatives is to fill in existing research gaps, and to contribute towards furthering knowledge on the prevailing issues related to security, economic stability, and the political realm of the region. Each of these projects involves some of the most prominent scholars of the Middle East and the Gulf region. Each scholar participating will be working on a specific sub-topic, under the overarching subject.

Past Working Groups

Sun Apr 7, 2019 - Mon Apr 8, 2019 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On April 7-8, 2019, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) held the first working group under its research initiative “The GCC Crisis: Qatar and its Neighbors.” The two day meeting...
Sun Mar 17, 2019 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On March 17 2019, the Center for International and Regional Studies held the second working group under its research initiative on “Science and Scientific Production in the Middle East.” This was a...
Wed Mar 13, 2019 09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
As part of the partnership between CIRS, and Qatar-based institutions to investigate the current state of healthcare provision to single male labors (SML), a second working group for this project was...
Sun Feb 24, 2019 09:00 AM - 03:00 PM
On February 24, 2019, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) brought together a number of scholars to commence a new research effort on the “Political Economy of the Contemporary...
Sun Jan 20, 2019 - Mon Jan 21, 2019 09:00 AM - 04:00 PM
On January 20-21, 2019, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) held the first working group under its research initiative on “Russia and the Middle East.” Over the course of two...
Sun Oct 28, 2018 - Mon Oct 29, 2018 09:30 AM - 05:00 PM
On October 28–29, 2018, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) held the second working group under its research initiative on “Informal Politics in the Middle East.” Over the course...
Sun Sep 16, 2018 - Mon Sep 17, 2018 09:00 AM - 04:00 PM
On September 16–17, 2018, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) hosted the first working group under its research initiative on “Science and Scientific Production in the Middle...
Sun Aug 12, 2018 - Mon Aug 13, 2018 09:00 AM - 04:00 PM
On August 12–13, 2018, the Center for International and Regional studies (CIRS) held the second working group under its research initiative on “Nation-Building in Central Asia.” Over the course of...
Sun May 6, 2018 - Mon May 7, 2018 09:00 AM - 04:00 PM
On May 6-7, 2018, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) hosted a working group on “Citizenship, Class, and Inequality in the Middle East.” During the course of two days, scholars...
Thu Apr 26, 2018 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
The Center for International and Regional Studies collaborated with Qatar-based partners to study the health of migrant workers in Qatar with a roundtable meeting on April 26, 2018. The project...