Working Groups

As part of its Research and Scholarship initiatives, CIRS organizes several ongoing Working Groups that convene in Doha to examine a variety of international issues. The primary purpose of CIRS research initiatives is to fill in existing research gaps, and to contribute towards furthering knowledge on the prevailing issues related to security, economic stability, and the political realm of the region. Each of these projects involves some of the most prominent scholars of the Middle East and the Gulf region. Each scholar participating will be working on a specific sub-topic, under the overarching subject.

Past Working Groups

Sun Jan 20, 2019 - Mon Jan 21, 2019 09:00 AM - 04:00 PM
In January 2019, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) held the first working group under its research initiative on “Russia and the Middle East”. Over the course of two days,...
Sun Oct 28, 2018 - Mon Oct 29, 2018 09:30 AM - 05:00 PM
In October 2018, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) held the second working group under its research initiative on “Informal Politics in the Middle East”. Over the course of two...
Sun Sep 16, 2018 - Mon Sep 17, 2018 09:00 AM - 04:00 PM
In September 2018, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) hosted the first working group under its research initiative on “Science and Scientific Production in the Middle East”...
Sun Aug 12, 2018 - Mon Aug 13, 2018 09:00 AM - 04:00 PM
In August 2018, the Center for International and Regional studies (CIRS) held the second working group under its research initiative on “Nation-Building in Central Asia”. Over the course of two days...
Sun May 6, 2018 - Mon May 7, 2018 09:00 AM - 04:00 PM
In May 2018, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) hosted a working group on “Citizenship, Class, and Inequality in the Middle East.” During the course of two days, scholars were...
Sun Apr 15, 2018 - Mon Apr 16, 2018 09:00 AM - 04:00 PM
In April 2018, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) hosted the second working group meeting of its research initiative on “Water and Conflict in the Middle East.” Over the course...
Sat Mar 10, 2018 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
In March 2018, the Center for International and Regional Studies held its first working group under its research initiative on “Informal Politics in the Middle East.” During the working group, a...
Sun Jan 21, 2018 - Mon Jan 22, 2018 09:00 AM - 04:00 PM
In January 2018, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) convened a working group on “Nation Building in Central Asia.” The working group took place under the larger CIRS research...
Sun Dec 10, 2017 - Mon Dec 11, 2017 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
In December 2017, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) held the second working group under its research initiative on “Mobility, Displacement, and Forced Migration in the Middle...
Wed Nov 29, 2017 08:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On November 29 th , 2017, CIRS convened a one-day roundtable meeting to bring together scholars of the region with extensive experience in carrying out social science research, to have an in-depth...