Working Groups

As part of its Research and Scholarship initiatives, CIRS organizes several ongoing Working Groups that convene in Doha to examine a variety of international issues. The primary purpose of CIRS research initiatives is to fill in existing research gaps, and to contribute towards furthering knowledge on the prevailing issues related to security, economic stability, and the political realm of the region. Each of these projects involves some of the most prominent scholars of the Middle East and the Gulf region. Each scholar participating will be working on a specific sub-topic, under the overarching subject.

Past Working Groups

Mon Jun 22, 2020 - Mon Jun 29, 2020 04:00 PM - 05:00 PM
Between June 22 and 29 2020, the Center for International and Regional Studies held the second working group for its faculty research initiative on “Tunisia in the Aftermath of the Arab Uprisings.”...
Mon Apr 6, 2020 - Mon Apr 13, 2020 02:00 PM - 03:00 PM
Between April 6 and 13 2020, the Center for International and Regional Studies held the second working group for its research initiative on “Football in the Middle East.” In light of the rapidly...
Sat Feb 15, 2020 - Sun Feb 16, 2020 09:00 AM - 03:00 PM
On February 15-16, 2020, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) held a Research Roundtable on the topic of Economic Migration to the United States with the purpose to deepen our...
Sun Jan 19, 2020 - Mon Jan 20, 2020 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On January 19-20, 2020, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) hosted a Research Roundtable on Big Data in the Middle East. The meeting was held in order to generate an initial...
Sun Dec 1, 2019 - Mon Dec 2, 2019 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On December 1-2, 2019, the Center for International and Regional Studies held the second working group for its research initiative on “The GCC Crisis: Qatar and its Neighbors.” Over two days, the...
Sun Nov 10, 2019 - Mon Nov 11, 2019 09:00 PM - 05:00 PM
On November 10-11, 2019, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) held the first working group under its research initiative, "Tunisia in the Aftermath of the Arab Uprisings." This...
Sun Oct 27, 2019 - Mon Oct 28, 2019 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On October 27-28, 2019, the Center for International and Regional Studies held the inaugural working group for its research initiative on “Football in the Middle East.” The meeting brought together...
Sun Sep 29, 2019 09:30 AM - 04:30 PM
On September 29, 2019, the Center for International and Regional Studies held the second working group under its research initiative on “ Political Economy of the Contemporary Middle East .” During...
Sun Aug 25, 2019 - Mon Aug 26, 2019 09:30 PM - 05:00 PM
On August 25-26 2019, the Center for International and Regional Studies held the second working group under its research initiative on “Russia and the Middle East.” Over the course of two days, the...
Sun Apr 7, 2019 - Mon Apr 8, 2019 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On April 7-8, 2019, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) held the first working group under its research initiative “The GCC Crisis: Qatar and its Neighbors.” The two day meeting...