The Center for International and Regional Studies sponsors public lectures by leading experts in international affairs as well as research-focused Working Group meetings, among other scholarly events.

Past Events

Sun Oct 28, 2018 - Mon Oct 29, 2018 09:30 AM - 05:00 PM
On October 28–29, 2018, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) held the second working group under its research initiative on “ Informal Politics in the Middle East .” Over the...
Thu Oct 25, 2018 02:00 PM - 04:00 PM
In October 2018, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) held a CURA Seminar under its CURA (CIRS Undergraduate Research Advancement) initiative. Each semester, CURA Fellows come...
Wed Oct 17, 2018 12:45 PM - 01:45 PM
On June 5, 2017, Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Bahrain, and Egypt cut diplomatic ties with Qatar, imposed a blockade, and immediately moved to close off access to Qatar, with an embargo on air, sea, and...
Thu Oct 4, 2018 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
On October 4, 2018, CIRS hosted its first CURA workshop for students. “Designing a Research Question” was intended to outline the research process and offer strategies for developing a research...
Sun Sep 16, 2018 - Mon Sep 17, 2018 09:00 AM - 04:00 PM
On September 16–17, 2018, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) hosted the first working group under its research initiative on “ Science and Scientific Production in the Middle...
Wed Sep 12, 2018 06:00 PM - 08:00 PM
Amidst international disputes and conflicts, the Gulf region stands out as a political hot zone. Seeking to find out why the region is so chronically unstable, Mehran Kamrava, Professor and Director...
Mon Sep 10, 2018 12:00 PM - 03:00 PM
On September 10, 2018, CIRS formally launched the CIRS Undergraduate Research Advancement program (CURA) by hosting a reception that was attended by GU-Q students, staff, and faculty members. CURA...
Sun Aug 12, 2018 - Mon Aug 13, 2018 09:00 AM - 04:00 PM
On August 12–13, 2018, the Center for International and Regional studies (CIRS) held the second working group under its research initiative on “ Nation-Building in Central Asia .” Over the course of...
Sun May 6, 2018 - Mon May 7, 2018 09:00 AM - 04:00 PM
On May 6-7, 2018, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) hosted a working group on “ Citizenship, Class, and Inequality in the Middle East .” During the course of two days, scholars...
Thu Apr 26, 2018 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
The Center for International and Regional Studies collaborated with Qatar-based partners to study the health of migrant workers in Qatar with a roundtable meeting on April 26, 2018. The project...