The Center for International and Regional Studies sponsors public lectures by leading experts in international affairs as well as research-focused Working Group meetings, among other scholarly events.

Past Events

Thu Sep 12, 2013 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
The Consortium of Arab Policy Research Institutes (CAPRI) at the Issam Fares Institute for Public Policy and International Affairs (IFI) and the Center on Knowledge-to-Policy for Health at AUB...
Mon Sep 9, 2013 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
George Naufal , Assistant Professor of Economics at the American University of Sharjah and a ‎research fellow at the Institute for the Study of Labor (IZA), delivered a CIRS Monthly ‎Dialogue lecture...
Sat Sep 7, 2013 - Sun Sep 8, 2013 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On September 7–8, 2013, CIRS held a two-day working group to discuss, amongst other things, the economic and political push and pull factors of Arab migration to the region, the historical migration...
Wed Jun 5, 2013 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
The Women’s Studies Circle made up of members from the Georgetown University School of Foreign Service in Qatar and Qatar University, led a Focused Discussion supported by CIRS on June 5, 2013. The...
Sat May 18, 2013 - Sun May 19, 2013 06:00 PM - 06:00 PM
On May 18–19 2013, CIRS held a second working group to conclude its research initiative on “Weak States in the Greater Middle East.” Participants met in Washington D.C. to discuss individual paper...
Wed Apr 24, 2013 06:00 PM - 06:00 PM
Rogaia Abusharaf, Associate Professor of Anthropology at Georgetown University School of ‎Foreign Service in Qatar and CIRS Faculty Fellow 2012-2013, led a Focused Discussion on ‎‎“Debating Darfur in...
Mon Apr 22, 2013 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On April 22, 2013, Daniel Lucey, Adjunct Professor of Microbiology and Immunology at ‎Georgetown University Medical Center and an expert on global virus outbreaks, delivered the ‎final CIRS Monthly...
Mon Apr 1, 2013 06:00 PM - 06:00 PM
On Monday, April 1, 2013, CIRS hosted a talk by H. E. Bader Omar Al Dafa from ‎the Qatari Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Al Dafa is a career diplomat, and served as ‎Qatar’s Ambassador to Egypt, the...
Sat Mar 16, 2013 - Sun Mar 17, 2013 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On March 16–17, 2013, CIRS held a second working group to conclude its research initiative on “Social Change in Post-Khomeini Iran.” Experts and scholars from various multidisciplinary backgrounds...
Tue Mar 12, 2013 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On March 12, 2013, CIRS organized a panel discussion on the topic of “War by Other Means? Iran under Sanctions,” featuring Mehran Kamrava, Director of CIRS; Mansoor Moaddel, CIRS ‎Visiting Scholar;...