The Center for International and Regional Studies sponsors public lectures by leading experts in international affairs as well as research-focused Working Group meetings, among other scholarly events.

Past Events

Sun Nov 16, 2014 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Ian Almond, Professor of World Literature at the Georgetown University School of Foreign Service in Qatar, headed a CIRS Faculty Research Workshop on "Dissecting the Native Informant: A Case Study of...
Mon Oct 27, 2014 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
Ole Wæver, Professor of International Relations at the Department of Political Science, University of Copenhagen, and Director of the Center for Resolution of International Conflicts, delivered a...
Sat Oct 25, 2014 - Sun Oct 26, 2014 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On October 25-26, 2014, CIRS held its first Working Group under “ The Changing Security Dynamics of the Gulf ” research initiative. Academics from various disciplines gathered for their first meeting...
Mon Oct 13, 2014 06:00 PM - 08:00 PM
Justin Gengler, Senior Researcher at the Social and Economic Survey Research Institute (SESRI) of Qatar University, delivered a CIRS Monthly Dialogue on “Studying Public Opinion in Qatar” on October...
Sat Sep 27, 2014 - Sun Sep 28, 2014 06:00 PM - 06:00 PM
On September 27-28, 2014, CIRS held the first Working Group on “ The Digital Middle East ” research initiative. Academics from various backgrounds gathered for this first meeting to discuss their...
Tue Sep 16, 2014 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
Damian Radcliffe, leader of the Rassed research program at Qatar’s Ministry of Information and Communications Technology (ictQATAR), delivered the inaugural CIRS Monthly Dialogue of the 2014-2015...
Wed Aug 13, 2014 - Thu Aug 14, 2014 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On August 13-14, 2014, CIRS held the second working group meeting under the " Transitional Justice in the Middle East " research initiative. Regional and International scholars and experts gathered...
Sun Jun 22, 2014 - Mon Jun 23, 2014 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On June 22-23, 2014, CIRS held the concluding Social Currents in the Maghreb research initiative working group in Washington D.C. Participants gathered for the second time to discuss their research...
Sun Jun 8, 2014 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On June 8, 2014, CIRS and the Stony Brook Institute for Global Studies (SBIGS) held the first working group under the collaborative research initiative World Regions: The Middle Eastern Pivot ...
Tue Jun 3, 2014 - Wed Jun 4, 2014 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On June 3-4, 2014, CIRS held the second working group under the State and Innovation in the Gulf research initiative. Participants reconvened in Doha to discuss their paper submissions that...