The Center for International and Regional Studies sponsors public lectures by leading experts in international affairs as well as research-focused Working Group meetings, among other scholarly events.

Past Events

Mon Jun 8, 2015 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
CIRS held a Faculty Research Workshop on June 8, 2015, for Harry Verhoeven, Assistant Professor at the Georgetown University School of Foreign Service in Qatar, to discuss his forthcoming book Why...
Mon May 25, 2015 06:00 PM - 08:00 PM
Noor Al Malki Al Jehani, Executive Director of the Doha International Family Institute, delivered the final CIRS Monthly Dialogue of the 2014-2015 academic year with a lecture on “Strengthening the...
Wed May 13, 2015 - Thu May 14, 2015 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On May 13-14, 2015, CIRS held its second Working Group on the “The Changing Security Dynamics of the Gulf” research initiative. Academics gathered for the second time to discuss their research...
Sat Apr 25, 2015 - Sun Apr 26, 2015 09:00 AM - 06:00 PM
On April 25-26, 2015, the first working group meeting of CIRS’ research initiative on “ China and the Middle East ” took place. A diverse, multi-disciplinary collective of scholars from China, the...
Sat Apr 11, 2015 - Sun Apr 12, 2015 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
On April 11-12, 2015, CIRS held its second working group on “ The Digital Middle East ” research initiative in Doha. Participants gathered to discuss their research papers and obtain feedback from...
Wed Mar 25, 2015 12:30 PM - 01:30 PM
Bart Hilhorst, a water resources specialist and former Chief Technical Advisor for the FAO project on the Nile basin, delivered a CIRS Focused Discussion on “The Future of Nile Cooperation” on March...
Mon Mar 23, 2015 06:00 PM - 08:00 PM
Laurie A. Brand is the Robert Grandford Wright Professor of International Relations and Middle East Studies at the University of Southern California.
Sat Mar 14, 2015 - Sun Mar 15, 2015 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
As part of its Research and Scholarship initiatives, CIRS organizes several ongoing Working Groups that convene in Doha to examine a variety of international issues. The primary purpose of CIRS...
Tue Mar 10, 2015 12:30 PM - 01:30 PM
Amira El-Zein, Associate Professor at the Georgetown University School of Foreign Service in Qatar and the 2014-2015 CIRS SFS-Q Faculty Fellow, delivered a CIRS Focused Discussion on “Victimization...
Sun Mar 8, 2015 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
The research of Jeremy Koons, associate professor of philosophy at Georgetown University School of Foreign Service in Qatar (GU-Q), was featured recently in a CIRS Faculty Research Workshop about his...