The Center for International and Regional Studies sponsors public lectures by leading experts in international affairs as well as research-focused Working Group meetings, among other scholarly events.

Thu Oct 4, 2018 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
Featured Expert: Professor Mehran Kamrava, PhD, Director of CIRS Thu Oct 4, 2018 12:00 PM – 04:00...Read more

Past Events

Wed Sep 12, 2018 06:00 PM - 08:00 PM
Troubled Waters: Insecurity in the Persian Gulf Wednesday September 12, 2018 6:00 p.m. CIRS Conference Room Georgetown University Education City The lecture will be followed by a reception Photo...
Sun Aug 12, 2018 - Mon Aug 13, 2018 09:00 AM - 04:00 PM
In August 2018, the Center for International and Regional studies (CIRS) held the second working group under its research initiative on “Nation-Building in Central Asia”. Over the course of two days...
Sun May 6, 2018 - Mon May 7, 2018 09:00 AM - 04:00 PM
In May 2018, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) hosted a working group on “Citizenship, Class, and Inequality in the Middle East.” During the course of two days, scholars were...
Sun Apr 15, 2018 - Mon Apr 16, 2018 09:00 AM - 04:00 PM
In April 2018, the Center for International and Regional Studies (CIRS) hosted the second working group meeting of its research initiative on “Water and Conflict in the Middle East.” Over the course...
Thu Apr 12, 2018 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
On April 12, 2018, CIRS convened its first CURA Discussion Seminar under the center’s new initiative: CIRS Undergraduate Research Advancement. The seminar was introduced to support the research needs...
Wed Apr 11, 2018 06:00 PM - 08:00 PM
The Center for International and Regional Studies invited, Islam Hassan , CIRS Research Analyst, to present his study, co-conducted with Nael Shama, at a Dialogue event on April 11, 2018. Hassan...
Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:45 PM - 01:45 PM
On March 28, 2018, George Osborne , former British Conservative Party politician and current editor of the London Evening Standard , was invited by CIRS to deliver a Focused Discussion in which he...
Mon Mar 26, 2018 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
The Center for International and Regional Studies hosted a workshop on Universal Basic Income (UBI) experiments. This was part of the CIRS-Faculty Book Series, which provides an opportunity for...
Wed Mar 21, 2018 06:00 PM - 08:00 PM
“There is always a sense of timeliness about the politics of the Middle East,” and a pressing sense of the issues, according to Beverley Milton-Edwards , a visiting fellow at the Brookings Doha...
Mon Mar 19, 2018 12:45 PM - 01:45 PM
The Center for International and Regional Studies invited GU-Q student Emma Mogensen (class of 2018) to present her senior thesis, “Refusing the Uniform: Immigrant and Ethnic Minority Women’s...