The Center for International and Regional Studies sponsors public lectures by leading experts in international affairs as well as research-focused Working Group meetings, among other scholarly events.

Abdullah Al-Arian
Tue Jan 13, 2015
On Tuesday, January 13, 2015, CIRS hosted a book launch and reading by Abdullah Al-Arian , Assistant Professor of History at the Georgetown University School of Foreign Service in Qatar. Answering...
Re-Emerging West Asia Working Group I
Sat Jan 10, 2015 to Sun Jan 11, 2015
CIRS held the first Working Group under its research initiative on “ Re-Emerging West Asia ” on January 10-11, 2015. Included in the meeting were academics representing the South Caucasus states of...
Neha Vora
Mon Dec 1, 2014
On December 1, 2014, Neha Vora, Assistant Professor of Anthropology at Lafayette College, delivered a CIRS Monthly Dialogue on the topic “Impossible Citizens: Dubai’s Indian Diaspora.” Much of the...
Youth in the Middle East
Thu Nov 20, 2014 to Fri Nov 21, 2014
In partnership with the youth-oriented social initiative organization, Silatech , CIRS launched the “ Youth in the Middle East ” research initiative with a two day working group meeting on November...
Buthaina Al Ansari
Mon Nov 17, 2014
Buthaina Al Ansari, founder and Chairperson of Qatariat T&D Holding Company and Senior Human Resources Director at Ooredoo, delivered a CIRS Monthly Dialogue on the topic of “Sheroes—How Female...
Ian Almond
Sun Nov 16, 2014
Ian Almond, Professor of World Literature at the Georgetown University School of Foreign Service in Qatar, headed a CIRS Faculty Research Workshop on November 16, 2014, to discuss his latest work...
Ole Wæver
Mon Oct 27, 2014
Ole Wæver, Professor of International Relations at the Department of Political Science, University of Copenhagen, and Director of the Center for Resolution of International Conflicts, delivered a...
The Changing Security Dynamics of the Gulf
Sat Oct 25, 2014 to Sun Oct 26, 2014
CIRS held its first Working Group under “ The Changing Security Dynamics of the Gulf ” research initiative on October 25-26, 2014. Academics from various disciplines gathered for their first meeting...
Justin Gengler Monthly Dialogue
Mon Oct 13, 2014
Justin Gengler, Senior Researcher at the Social and Economic Survey Research Institute (SESRI) of Qatar University, delivered a CIRS Monthly Dialogue on “Studying Public Opinion in Qatar” on October...
Digital Middle East Working Group
Sat Sep 27, 2014 to Sun Sep 28, 2014
CIRS held the first Working Group on “ The Digital Middle East ” research initiative on September 27-28, 2014. Academics from various backgrounds gathered for this first meeting to discuss their...

Working Group Meetings

Take a look at our Working Groups meetings for our Research Initiatives